Problems 2019

Problems of the intramural stage of BioTournament 2019

1. Only after dark.

Molecular hydrogen is a promising alternative to fossil fuels due to its high energy, storage capabilities, the ability of fuel cells to directly convert hydrogen into electricity, and moreover when hydrogen is burned, only water is formed. The photosynthetic production of hydrogen by microalgae is a potential source of renewable clean energy because algae use only water and sunlight to form hydrogen. The enzyme Fe – Fe hydrogenase catalyzes the production of hydrogen with extremely high rates, but this process takes place after dark adaptation and stops after several minutes in the light which limits the large-scale use of microalgae for hydrogen production. Consider the possible mechanisms of the cessation of the photosynthetic hydrogen production and suggest ways to overcome these limitations of the large-scale use of microalgae for hydrogen production.

The problem’s author is  Marina A. Kozuleva, Ph.D., Tel Aviv University.

2. Immigraniada

Each species has its own habitat, but increasingly it is possible to meet populations outside the original range. This situation is called “biological invasion”. During the invasion, alien species may die without spreading to the new territory, can master the vacant ecological niche or displace the native species and expand the boundaries of their range. Often, invasive species have a negative impact on native ecosystems.

At the moment, there are not so many multilateral studies of biological invasions, especially if we are talking about an unintended invasion of a species into an ecosystem (in contrary to introduced species). There are various studies of different aspects of biological invasion, but it is rather difficult to give a comprehensive assessment of this phenomenon.

Suggest a biological invasion research strategy and quantitative methods for predicting the viability of an invasive species population and its further impact on the recipient ecosystem.

The problem’s author is Valeria V. Adamova, Belgorod State University.

3. Ouroboros

Bacteriolytic enzymes of microbial origin, for example, produced by bacteria of the genus Lysobacter, are of great interest to biomedicine as an alternative to antibiotics. However, the native producer strain, as a rule, is not able to synthesize these enzymes in sufficient quantities. Expression of recombinant genes of lytic enzymes, in particular in E. coli, may be accompanied by lysis of producer bacteria. In addition, for the secretion of these enzymes, a specific secretory system is needed, the analogs of which are not always present in the microorganisms used. Develop an efficient expression system for producing bacteriolytic enzymes on a production scale, using the α-lytic protease of the microorganism Lysobacter enzymogenes as an example.

The problem’s author is Irina V. Kudryakova, Ph.D., researcher at the laboratory of cell surface biochemistry of microorganisms, IBPM RAS, “Pushchino Scientific Center for Biological Research”. 

4. Grab everything from the crab

In the waters of the North Pacific Ocean, as well as in the Barents Sea, every year about ten thousand tons of Red king crab is caught. Processing of crab is associated with a large amount of waste that is thrown into the sea. This waste includes hepatopancreas, which contains highly active digestive enzymes. However, large-scale processing of the red king crab hepatopancreas is still not conducted, which is associated with the difficulty of collecting, storing and transporting and, accordingly, the high cost of this raw material. Suggest solutions to the problems associated with scaling up the process of processing the red crab hepatopancreas.

The problem’s author is Evgeny A. Sogorin, Ph.D., Head of the Laboratory of Applied Enzymology, “Pushchino Scientific Center for Biological Research”. 

5. Little pigs – big problems.

Industrial methods of pig farming are cost-effective and in a short time allow solving the problem of supplying the population with meat products. At the same time, their operation raised several serious issues related to the protection of the environment. The main source of environmental pollution is liquid runoff from livestock farms. Application of a fresh pig waste to the fields as fertilizer is impractical for a number of agrotechnical and sanitary reasons. Only after a few years, the waste is ready to be applied as fertilizer, which requires large areas occupied by waste.

Offer cost-effective for the territory of the Russian Federation methods of accelerated processing of liquid waste from large pig-farming complexes, as result of which a commercial product can be obtained.

The problem’s author is Alexander V. Shitov, Ph.D., senior researcher, IBBP RAS, “Pushchino Scientific Center for Biological Research”. 

6. Saving Private Pony

Equine infectious anemia (anemia infectiosa equorum, EIA) is a viral disease characterized by lesions of the blood-forming organs and manifested by a recurrent or persistent fever, anemia, symptoms of hemorrhagic diathesis during temperature attacks and dysfunction of the cardiovascular system. There is a general kit for the diagnosis of the EIA which includes: a specific precipitating antigen from a horse’s spleen tissue experimentally infected with a virus, and polyclonal specific serum.

The antigen preparation is highly specific, however, its production requires a large number of infected horses, which leads to significant material costs, to a decrease in the standardity of the drug due to the large variety of raw materials and does not exclude the possibility of illness of people who come in contact with infected animals. In addition, the EIA virus belongs to difficult-to-cultivate viruses, the collection of the virus-containing suspension is carried out with a duration of up to 3 months due to the insufficient accumulation of the virus.

Develop innovative, less costly and more efficient technologies for obtaining components of the test system for diagnosing infectious anemia of horses.

The problem’s author is prof. Irina N. Matveeva, Institute of Biological Industry RAS.

7. The Great Expression

Proposed by tournament’s partner EFKO Group

Chymosin is a ruminant rennet enzyme fermenting milk, used in cheese production. For a long time, the main source of natural chymosin was an extract from abraded stomachs of calves. To provide a cheaper and more convenient method of industrial production of chymosin, a strain-producer of genetically engineered calf chymosin based on methylotrophic Pichia pastoris X-33 yeast was obtained with an expression of the target protein in an amount of 0.1 g / l of culture medium. In the development of the producer, the calf prochymosin gene (sequence number in the GeneBank NM180994) was used, and the plasmid pPICZaA (Invitrogen) was used as a vector for integrating the gene into the yeast genomic DNA. Plasmid gene insertion was performed at EcoRI / SalI sites. In the process of cultivation of yeast, chymosin is expressed as an inactive pro-enzyme, followed by activation upon acidification of the medium to pH <3. After chromatographic purification of active chymosin and analysis of its physicochemical parameters and specific activity, it was established that the recombinant enzyme is not inferior in its basic properties to native calf chymosin. For profitable industrial production of genetically engineered chymosin, stable expression of the enzyme by a producer strain of at least 0.5 g / l is necessary. Without changing the producer strain, suggest the most optimal genetic construct to increase the expression of recombinant chymosin. Map the proposed genetic construct, describe its structural elements and their function. The problem’s author is Anton A. Sychev.

8. Waiting for the postman

Proposed by tournament’s partner MEL Science

MEL Science produces and distributes physics and chemistry teaching kits for home experiments.

Develope a prototype of an experimental kit for biology and medicine that allows to clearly demonstrate the main achievements of molecular biology, biochemistry and human physiology. The proposed kit must be completely safe and comply with the rules of mailing in the USA.

9. Immune question

Proposed by tournament’s partner BIOCAD 

The activity of the immune response in human body is regulated by systems that ensure its induction or inhibition. So in the tumor microenvironment, the balance is often shifted towards inhibition, which makes the tumor invisible to the body’s immune system. Activation of the immune system by blocking inhibitors and activating inducers is one of the promising directions in the field of oncology. However, a shift in balance throughout the whole organismtowards induction contributes to the development of autoimmune reactions.

Suggest approaches that provide a balance shift towards the induction of the activity of the immune system only in the tumor microenvironment, without affecting the entire body.

Задачи 2019

Задачи очного этапа БиоТурнира 2019

1. От рассвета до заката

Молекулярный водород – перспективная альтернатива ископаемым источникам топлива вследствие его высокой энергетичности, возможностям хранения, способности топливных элементов напрямую конвертировать водород в электричество, к тому же, при сжигании водорода образуется только вода. Фотосинтетическая продукция водорода микроводорослями – это потенциальный источник возобновляемой чистой энергии, т.к. водоросли используют только воду и солнечный свет для образования водорода. Фермент Fe-Fe гидрогеназа катализирует продукцию водорода в микроводорослях с очень высокими скоростями, однако этот процесс происходит после адаптации к темноте и прекращается в течение нескольких минут на свету – что ограничивает масштабное использование микроводорослей для продукции водорода. Рассмотрите возможные механизмы прекращения фотосинтетического образования водорода и предложите способы преодоления ограничения масштабного использования микроводорослей для продукции водорода.

Автор задачи – к.б.н. Козулева Марина Алексеевна, Tel Aviv University

2. Immigraniada

Каждый вид имеет свой ареал обитания, однако всё чаще можно встретить популяции за пределами исконного ареала. В таком случае говорят о «биологических инвазиях». В ходе инвазии, чужеродные виды могут погибнуть, не распространившись на новой территории; могут освоить вакантную экологическую нишу или вытеснить аборигенный вид и расширить границы своего ареала. Нередко виды-вселенцы негативно влияют на аборигенные экосистемы.
На данный момент многосторонних исследований биологических инвазий не так много, особенно если речь идет о непреднамеренном попадании вида в экосистему (в отличие от интродукции). Существуют разнообразные исследования тех или иных аспектов инвазий, но довольно сложно дать комплексную оценку данного явления.
Предложите стратегию исследования биологической инвазии и количественные методы прогнозирования жизнеспособности популяций вида-вселенца и его дальнейшего воздействия на экосистему-реципиент.

Автор задачи – Адамова Валерия Владиславовна, Белгородский национальный исследовательский университет

3. Уроборос

Бактериолитические ферменты микробного происхождения, например, продуцируемые бактериями рода Lysobacter, представляют огромный интерес для биомедицины в качестве альтернативы антибиотикам. Однако нативный штамм-продуцент, как правило, не способен синтезировать данные ферменты в достаточных количествах. Экспрессия рекомбинантных генов литических ферментов, в частности в E.coli, может сопровождаться лизисом бактерий продуцентов. Кроме того, для секреции этих ферментов необходима специфическая секреторная система, аналоги которой не всегда есть в используемых микроорганизмах. Разработайте эффективную экспрессионную систему для наработки бактериолитических ферментов в производственных масштабах, на примере α-литической протеазы микроорганизма Lysobacter enzymogenes.

Автор задачи – к.б.н. Кудрякова Ирина Валерьевна, н.с. лаборатории биохимии клеточной поверхности микроорганизмов ФИЦ ПНЦБИ РАН ИБФМ РАН.

4. Бери от краба все

В акватории Дальнего Востока, а так же в Баренцевом море каждый год вылавливается около десяти тысяч тонн камчатского краба. Переработка краба сопряжена с большим количеством отходов, которые выбрасываются в море. В эти отходы входит гепатопанкреас, который содержит высокоактитвные пищеварительные ферменты. Однако масштабная переработка гепатопанкреаса камчатского краба в России до сих пор не ведется, что связано со сложностью сбора, хранения и транспортировки и, соответственно, высокой стоимостью этого сырья. Предложите пути решения проблем, связанных с масштабированием процесса переработки гепатопанкреаса камчатского краба.

Автор задачи – к.б.н Согорин Евгений Анатольевич, заведующий лабораторией прикладной энзимологии Федерального исследовательского центра «Пущинский научный центр биологических исследований Российской академии наук»

5. Хорошо в краю родном

Промышленные методы ведения свиноводства экономически эффективны и позволяют в короткие сроки решить проблему снабжения населения мясными продуктами. При этом эксплуатация существующих животноводческих комплексов поставила ряд серьезных вопросов, связанных с охраной окружающей среды. Основным источником загрязнения окружающей среды являются жидкие стоки от животноводческих комплексов.  Внесение свежих отходов свиноводства на поля в качестве удобрения нецелесообразно по ряду агротехнических и санитарных причин, только через несколько лет отходы оказываются готовы к внесению в качестве удобрения, что требует больших площадей, занятых под отходы.

Предложите экономически выгодные для территории Российской Федерации способы ускоренной переработки жидких отходов крупных свиноводческих комплексов, в результате которых может быть получен коммерческий продукт, имеющий спрос на рынке сельхозпроизводителей.

Автор задачи – кбн, Шитов Александр Васильевич, Институт фундаментальных проблем биологии РАН

6. Спасение рядового Пони

Инфекционная анемия лошадей (Anaemia infectiosa equorum, ИНАН) — вирусная болезнь, характеризующаяся поражением органов кроветворения и проявляющаяся рецидивирующей или постоянной лихорадкой, анемией, явлениями геморрагического диатеза во время температурных приступов и нарушением функций сердечно-сосудистой системы. В Российской Федерации для диагностики ИНАН выпускается «Набор для диагностики инфекционной анемии лошадей в реакции диффузионной преципитации (РДП) СТП », в состав его входят:  специфический преципитирующий антиген из ткани селезёнки лошади, экспериментально инфицированной вирусом, и поликлональная специфическая сыворотка.

Препарат антигена — высокоспецифичен, однако для его производства требуется большое количество инфицированных лошадей, что приводит к значительным материальным затратам, к снижению стандартности препарата из-за большого разнообразия сырья и не исключает вероятности заболевания людей, контактирующих с инфицированными животными.   Кроме того, вирус ИНАН относится к труднокультивируемым вирусам, сбор вируссодержащей суспензии проводят длительностью до 3 месяцев из-за недостаточного накопления вируса.

Разработайте инновационные, менее затратные и более эффективные технологии получения компонентов тест- системы для диагностики инфекционной анемии лошадей в реакции диффузионной преципитации.

Автор задачи – Матвеева Ирина Николаевна дбн, профессор, Всероссийский научно-исследовательский и технологический институт биологической промышленности, Московская область, Щелковский р-н, пос. Биокомбината.

7.Великая экспрессия

Задача предложена ГК ЭФКО

Химозин — сбраживающий молоко фермент сычуга жвачных животных, который используется при производстве сыра. Долгое время основным источником природного химозина являлась вытяжка из перетертых желудков телят. Чтобы обеспечить более дешевый и удобный способ промышленного производства химозина был получен штамм-продуцент генно-инженерного телячьего химозина на основе метилотрофных дрожжей Pichia pastoris X-33 с экспрессией целевого белка в количестве 0,1 г/л культуральной среды. При разработке продуцента использовался ген телячьего прохимозина (номер последовательности в ГенБанке NM180994), а в качестве вектора для интеграции гена в геномную ДНК дрожжей использовалась плазмида pPICZaA (Invitrogen). Вставка гена в плазмиду проводилась по сайтам EcoRI/SalI. В процессе культивирования дрожжей химозин экспрессируется в виде неактивного профермента с последующей активацией при закислении среды до pH<3. После хроматографической очистки активного химозина и анализа его физико-химических показателей и удельной активности, установлено, что по основным свойствам рекомбинантный фермент не уступает нативному телячьему химозину. Для рентабельного промышленного производства генно-инженерного химозина необходима стабильная экспрессия фермента штаммом-продуцентом не менее 0,5 г/л. Не меняя штамм-продуцент, предложите наиболее оптимальную генетическую конструкцию для увеличения экспрессии рекомбинантного химозина. Составьте карту предложенной генетической конструкции, опишите ее структурные элементы и их функцию. Автор задачи — Сычев Антон Александрович Заместитель генерального директора по генной инженерии ООО «ИЦ «Бирюч-НТ».